Skip to content

My 2012 Carbon Footprint = 3.789 tonnes of CO2

12/12/2012

I finally got around to calculating my carbon footprint for 2012, using Turn Back The Tide’s carbon calculator. Regular readers may remember Turn Back The Tide as the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador’s climate change public awareness initiative, which I helped launch in September.

So, without further ado, here it is:

carbon footprint

My footprint is about a third of the provincial average, which I’m glad of. It was also increased quite a lot by the trip I took to Rio de Janeiro in June, to blog from World Environment Day for the United Nations Environment Programme and TreeHugger.com. As I was working through the calculator’s seven steps, inputting that trip created the biggest leap.

At the end, the tool provided me with tips for lowering my footprint next year:

carbon footprint tips

All in all, a versatile and helpful resource. Again, if you’d like to check it out, click here. (Note, however, that certain values used in the calculator are specific to Newfoundland and Labrador.)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 12/12/2012 3:58 PM

    Wow – I’m not that far off you! Yeah, I had to lie, since I don’t live in either Newfoundland or Labrador, but my biggest hit was the wife’s car and driving to work – we have NO mass transit here, being out in the middle of nowhere. I was VERY surprised how much even the little recycling we do helps – there are no plans whatsoever around here for recycling, it’s all “do-it-yourself”.
    The next step is to upgrade the fridge. That’ll make a pretty dent in things.
    I’ll throw this at you, knowing that you’re not a rabid gearhead like me, but FAR more green. Has anybody done a study of internal-combustion engine-driven propeller aircraft versus turboprop and turbojets? Having spent many years watching jetliners belch black soot out of their engines, I can’t help but think that an IC engine, with all the goodies put on cars to keep emissions low, would be more “green” than either turboprop or jet engines. Thoughts?

  2. 12/12/2012 5:21 PM

    Hi Scott. Great result. I personally believe that individual carbon accounting is key to getting us out of this mess, and voluntarily reporting the result is true leadership. I think that if there was a greater collective understanding of where our big individual impacts were then we could make smarter decisions. For example our climate in Sydney, Australia is so benign that increasing the insulation in my house has a marginal impact compared to catching the train, or flying less or even eating less processed food. But politically it’s easier to ask the general population to insulate their houses (increases manufacturing GDP) rather than flying less or eating less processed food (decreases GDP). Simon

  3. Andrea permalink
    12/17/2012 1:17 PM

    I did a calculation like this a few years ago, and I was proud to come in below average but also shocked that what seem like little things make a huge (negative) impact. It makes me wonder… if someone fairly environmentally-minded like me can be surprised by the results, imagine how useful it would be for the average person to do this!!!

Leave a Reply

