Skip to content

I’m A Full-Time Writer Again! (And I’m Taking the Blog in a New Direction.)

10/04/2012

I’m once again taking (at least) a year off to focus on writing full-time. I’ve been saving money to do so for almost a year, and I plan to apply for another NLAC grant in the spring.

A lot of my newfound time will be devoted to promoting Royal Flush, and also self-publishing a new book next summer or fall. As well, I’m in the late stages of editing my third novel, Taking Stock, which I plan to start submitting to literary agents in January. Lastly, I have three short stories I’m going to submit to literary journals.

It’s a long shot, but just maybe I’ll be able to generate enough income to go on writing full-time indefinitely.

I’m pretty frugal, which makes that possibility a little more possible.

As for the blog, I plan to write a post a week, though I may stray from that schedule from time to time. More importantly, I plan for the posts themselves to be less formal. Up till this point, I’ve been trying to write fairly well-researched short essays, and while that’s certainly worked out for me (see: opportunity to blog for the United Nations Environment Programme at World Environment Day in Rio), I believe I may be able to reach more people if I make the posts  less academic, and inject them with more of my personality. This isn’t to say I have this scintillating personality–I do, incidentally–I simply think subjectivity is a blogging strength I haven’t fully been taking advantage of.

On that note, stay tuned for next week’s blog post, in which I’ll explain why taking cold showers is central to my environmentalism.

(Feel free to unsubscribe now, lol.)

Click here to subscribe to Batshite.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. 10/05/2012 9:21 PM

    So, have we as a society plunged so far into the electronic ether that you have to EXPLAIN that those rectangular doodads on the table in front of you are books? 8O
    Now, if I can just shake this intestinal bug that’s kicking my butt (literally) and no more of my beloved Hollywood idols die, maybe I can take up some of your load over at my little corner of blogdom. :D

    • 10/09/2012 6:21 PM

      Haha, books are arcane technology now, you know!

      In all serious, though, I was selling them at the Regatta, which is a big fair here centered around boat races, and people were mistaking me for a fortune teller. So I felt it necessary to be extra explicit :)

      Hope you’re feeling better since you left this comment!

      • breakdownmuch permalink
        10/11/2012 12:12 PM

        You’ve got to admit…that crown and scepter would throw anybody off. Who wants to read when there is fortune telling wizadry abound?

  2. Andrea permalink
    10/05/2012 10:47 PM

    I can’t think of anything to say that isn’t terribly inappropriate re: cold showers and environmentalism, and since we don’t know each other well and humour doesn’t always translate well in written form… I’m just going to say good luck! :)

  3. 10/08/2012 2:57 PM

    I started my year off a year ago and still at it. My best wishes to your plan.

  4. 10/13/2012 6:04 PM

    k, now i see that you only write about environmentalism. love it.

Leave a Reply

