Skip to content

Why You Haven’t Heard From Me

07/20/2012

I’m sorry, folks. It’s been awful quiet around here. I haven’t had the time to devote to the next post I have planned (which I intend to be a fairly involved piece on the sharing economy).

This is for a number of reasons, which I might as well list here so you can get an idea of what’s going on with me.

For starters, I’ve been training to run the Tely 10, which is an annual ten mile race held in St. John’s, Newfoundland. (That’s where I live.) The race is this Sunday, and I feel good and trained up for it. Excited!

There’s also my job, which at 42 hours a week is reasonably time-consuming.

ALSO, there’s writing fiction. I still do that! I recently completed two short stories and submitted them to the Cuffer Prize, a competition held by The Telegram, a local newspaper. (That gets announced in autumn.) Plus I’m planning to start the third draft of Taking Stock soon. I want to have the fourth draft finished around October so I can start submitting it to agents and publishers.

Finally, there’s this:

That’s the novel I self-published recently, and promoting it is taking up a significant amount of my time. I have a blog tour scheduled for August, with 20 blogs signed on to participate–this involves a lot of logistics. I’ve also been doing signings throughout the summer, selling it occasionally at the St. John’s Farmers’ Market, promoting it on Twitter (follow me there), and launching a Facebook contest to win a free copy (still ongoing, by the way). I’m also planning to record an audiobook, and a bunch of other stuff.

But fear not! I plan to get that post on the sharing economy up as soon as possible, and coming soon we’ll also have our first ever guest post here on Batshite. Stay tuned!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. John Erickson permalink
    07/20/2012 10:32 PM

    Aha! You’re a NEWFIE! Lordie, that explains just SO much! ;)
    Hey, at least you have good excuses. Mine run to power failures and an ISP that can’t keep it’s wi-fi towers working. Needless to say, we ARE looking for a new ISP. I wish we could fire the power company as well, but no such luck. (And you wonder why the company, American Electric Power, is often referred to locally as Always Erratic Power! :D )

    • 07/30/2012 9:29 AM

      I’m curious about what it explains, John!

      Your excuses seem way better than mine. Blogging is at least still possible, for me–your excuses seem to preclude much online activity.

      Good luck with the ISP hunt!

      • John Erickson permalink
        07/30/2012 3:24 PM

        Oh, I was just remembering our first long-term stay in Canada, where we’d watch the news and weather. And Newfoundland was always a half-hour off – loved that. And the great joke we learned – what do you call two Newfies (the dog, sorry) in a rowboat? The Royal Canadian Navy! :D
        (Hey, don’t get me wrong, I LOVE you guys, and especially your military. I just haven’t picked up that many anti-American jokes, so I have to fall back on the Canuck digs.)
        We’re waiting to receive some docs from a potential new ISP. That’ll get done, right after we get my wife’s car a new heater core. Yep, one step forward, two steps back. Such is life! ;)

  2. Andrea permalink
    07/23/2012 11:22 AM

    Good luck! We’ll be here when you’re ready to come back to blogging. :)

  3. 07/23/2012 12:41 PM

    I understand – doing some of the same things myself. It as good to see your post.

Leave a Reply

