Skip to content

Thank You for Sending Me to Rio!

05/04/2012

We did it. Here is UNEP’s official announcement. (UPDATE: TreeHugger, UNEP’s cohost, has also announced this.)

It was a long month, and no cakewalk. Between April 1st and April 30th, I called on my blog subscribers, Twitter followers, Facebook friends, and IRL friends and family to vote for me in the UNEP/TreeHugger Big Blog off, and to help spread the word.

The winner of the competition would fly to Rio de Janeiro, Brazil in June to blog about World Environment Day.

At no point during the month was 1st place a sure thing. By April 18th, with your votes, I’d managed to claw my way to 3rd. On April 19th, you made me shoot ahead to 1st, and for a week I stayed there by a margin of around 150 votes. But on Thursday, April 26th–with the competition’s close drawing near–I lost my lead, with Kyle Empringham overtaking me by over 50 votes.

I began to doubt. I took to Facebook and Twitter to relay what was happening. I made a YouTube video explaining why I wanted to blog for World Environment Day:

You retweeted my tweets and shared the links to vote on your Wall. You voted once for both posts, and you asked your friends and family to vote. You submitted the story to news outlets.

By the competition’s closing date, I had 3, 283 votes, and I was in 1st place. I literally couldn’t have done it without you.

Thank you.

The incredible outpour of help and support over the last four weeks has inspired me to do the best job I possibly can while blogging at World Environment Day. I intend for my blogging from Rio to be worthy of your votes.

Thank you as well to all the media who covered my participation in the competition. I’ll list them below, with links to the articles (if available):

CTV

Toronto Sun

VOCM

The Telegram

MUN

CBC’s The St. John’s Morning Show (interview)

Out of the Fog

The Shoreline

If I missed any, let me know!

If you’d like to read my submissions to the competition: here’s my initial submission, and here are posts one and two from the final round.

Click here to subscribe to Batshite.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. 05/04/2012 4:44 PM

    You’re the man now dog.

  2. Kelly-Anne permalink
    05/04/2012 5:15 PM

    Congratulations! You really deserve and worked for this opportunity.

  3. 05/04/2012 10:52 PM

    Congratulations on your hard work, Scott. What an amazing experience you’ll have – I’m looking forward to reading about it!

  4. Andrea permalink
    05/06/2012 12:02 AM

    Well done, Scott. You clearly have a lot of support, and it’s well-deserved. This is very exciting, and I can’t wait to read your updates from Rio.

  5. Donna permalink
    05/08/2012 7:38 PM

    Hey Scott!!! Heard your interview on CBC radio this morning and I just read the Telegram’s article. I know you will represent your family, community, province and country very proudly as we are so proud of you. You will have the experience of a lifetime as well influencing young and old alike, as we all have a responsibility in saving our environment. Keep on blogging my dear man, and continue to have a positive influence worldwide. Way to go, Scott!

    • 05/16/2012 11:10 AM

      Thank you, Donna! I’ll definitely try my best to do so. And I know for sure it’s going to be the experience of a lifetime–so excited!

Leave a Reply

