Skip to content

Willie Nelson and Sustainable Agriculture

09/19/2011

This is a commercial for the fast food chain, Chipotle. It’s also a short film about abandoning factory farms for smaller, more sustainable ones. The music is an awesome cover of Coldplay’s “The Scientist”, sung by Willie Nelson. If you buy it from iTunes, your 99 cents go to The Chipotle Cultivate Foundation

I’ve never eaten at Chipotle, but it’s great to see a business with such an enthusiastic green program.

Chipotle CEO Steve Ells says, “We produced this film to help illustrate the choices people face in deciding what to eat, and hope that it will encourage people to choose food that is raised with respect for the land, the animals, and the farmers that produce it.”
9 Comments leave one →
  1. 09/19/2011 4:50 PM

    I’m a huge Chipotle fan and was actually gearing up to make a post about them on my blog one of these days since they’re one of the more environmentally responsible food chains, so when I saw your comment on my blog and decided to check it out I was thrilled to see this video! It will most likely be making an appearance in my blog in the coming week — great stuff.

    • 09/19/2011 10:52 PM

      Glad you like! I’ll definitely be trying their food if I ever happen across one. Up till now I’d have thought the phrase ‘sustainable fast food chain’ was an oxymoron.

      As for the video, it’s wonderfully done. The simple, back-to-basics art style suits the subject so well, and I love the cover, though I was never too wild about the Coldplay original. I think Willie Nelson’s version is much more powerful.

  2. John Erickson permalink
    09/19/2011 4:56 PM

    Rats, my sound card doesn’t work, so I can’t enjoy this! But I get the point, and I applaud it. As much as I’d like to bail out of this area, I’m hopeful that the smaller farms, Amish AND English, might see a more prosperous compliments of the “eat local” movement.

    • 09/19/2011 10:47 PM

      You need to get a new sound card, John! The Internet isn’t all text, you know! :P

      • John Erickson permalink
        09/20/2011 11:54 AM

        Well, the money is short, the computer is new to me (a Frankenstein of numerous parts) and the weather is in my tolerable range so a lot of outside stuff is getting done. I am trying to get a buddy over who knows these things, I’m hoping it’s just a driver or something easy. Otherwise, when winter sets in, I got a couple more donor boxes. It’ll get fixed, sooner or later!Besides, BBCAmerica is now running full-length versions of Top Gear, so I don’t need to watch stuff over the Net. At least not until Starz starts running a new series called “The Boss”. It has 3 of my favourite things in life – Chicago, Kelsey Grammer, and Chicago. Did I mention it’s filmed in Chicago? ;)

      • 09/23/2011 12:41 AM

        I can’t fault you for eschewing the Internet in favour of outdoors. And I’ve heard a lot of good about Top Gear.

        At any rate, I hope you get the sound card up and running soon!

  3. 09/20/2011 12:45 AM

    They had me at “I’m going back to the start” when the farmer knocked down the buildings and converted the pens into open spaces. I got a little misty to be honest at that point, this is an issue that is so near and dear to me. Thanks so much for sharing. Beautiful song too. Beautiful!

    • 09/22/2011 12:16 PM

      I’d be lying if I said my eyes didn’t get a little moist at that point too, Sherry. It really is a wonderful video.

Trackbacks

  1. Cultivate a Better World | One Earth to Live

Leave a Reply

