Skip to content

No Investigation?

09/16/2011

(This is the seventh installment of my serialized short story, “Captor Audience”. To start at the beginning, click here. If you’d like to participate in the writing of the story, leave a comment from the perspective of someone reading Ruby’s posts online. If your comment works for the story, I’ll have Ruby reply to it in her next post.)

I’ve been receiving a lot of supportive comments, including a few on my last post informing me donations have now reached $150 000. Thank you so much, everyone.

A lot of you were worried that I wouldn’t get anything to eat today again. Luckily, I have. I woke up to hummus and pita bread.

I have noticed, however, that there have been no comments that reference an investigation of any kind. Isn’t anyone looking for me? I guess it’s possible that my kidnapper just isn’t approving those comments. I hope that’s the case.

Shirley, the girl I was supposed to meet the morning of my kidnapping, commented on my last post. Hi, Shirley. Thank you for saying you were worried about me, and for donating.

I know we haven’t been the best of friends. In fact, I’m not sure we were ever friends at all. Which is why I was surprised when you asked to be my partner for the class presentation. I know I acted reluctant, but honestly, if you hadn’t asked I probably would have had to do the project by myself.

Even after I agreed, I told you that I hated group projects, and that I would be doing most of the work.  This only seemed prudent at the time–I wanted to make sure I got a good mark. But I’ve had a lot of time to think about it (as you can probably imagine), and I’ve realized that it was mean. I’m sorry.

I always figured you were jealous of me. You were in my Composition class last semester, and during peer editing you were so hard on my work. When the professor announced during the last week of class that Gulliver’s had accepted my article on eating disorders, I thought I saw you glaring.

That’s why your support now means so much.

I’m sorry. I’m being way more candid than I intended. I think it’s this room. The isolation. I’m beginning to doubt there’s really a world out there.

One Comment leave one →
  1. John Erickson permalink
    09/17/2011 1:37 PM

    Don’t worry, Ruby. I’m on the outside, and many days I too have serious doubts there’s a world out there.
    You wanted proof that these responses aren’t being manufactured? Well, here’s my bio-in-brief. I’m Chicago born and bred, living in rural SE Ohio, cursed by chronic headaches, an ex-computer programmer who did World War 2 re-enacting on weekends. I love sci-fi (especially technical stuff), military history, disco, Hollywood musicals, action flicks, cars, dogs, cats, swords and armour (have my own), and have acquaintances in the Ministries of Defence in almost every European country.
    Think your captor is creative enough to come up with all that?

Leave a Reply

