Skip to content

Denied Food for Not Double Spacing

09/13/2011

(This is the sixth installment of my serialized short story, “Captor Audience”. The next part is here. To start at the beginning, click here. If you’d like to participate in the writing of the story, leave a comment from the perspective of someone reading Ruby’s posts online. If your comment works for the story, I’ll have Ruby reply to it in her next post.)

Instead of food, today I woke up to a note scribbled on the bottom of my last post: “Failure to double space: no food for one day.” Seems like someone is a bit of a stickler.

Even though my absence from U of T has been confirmed, some commenters are still skeptical that this isn’t some elaborate hoax. Let me assure you: I really am stuck in this room, alone, and I really am hungry.

You should keep in mind that I’m not completely convinced you’re for real, either. Maybe these posts aren’t actually going online–maybe all the comments are being fabricated by my kidnapper.

All I know is, if this isn’t actually going online, then this is all just some sick game, and I have very little chance of actually getting out of here. So I have to act as if it isn’t.

A commenter on my last post asked me to elaborate on having no regrets about posting personal information online. You see, I’ve always been aware of the risks. I’ve had the same creepy guy leaving inappropriate remarks on my blog for a couple years now. Hell, maybe he’s my kidnapper (though if that doesn’t get edited out, he probably isn’t).

Benson66, my creepy online stalker person, continually told me how beautiful I am. That’s how I knew he had a screw loose. (My roommate tells me I look okay without my glasses, but I’m far from beautiful.) After I revoked Benson66’s commenting privileges, he started sending me emails. Adding him to my spam filter didn’t any good. He kept switching accounts.

None of that stopped me from being as open as possible on my blog. I believe that nowadays, openness is the hallmark of good reporting. Some say the Internet is killing the journalist profession, but I think it’s the best thing that’s ever happened to journalism. The old obsession with objectivity doesn’t work. The Internet brings us a lot more independent perspectives, filtered through an increased subjectivity, and that makes a much better vehicle for truth.

Wow. For a minute there I forgot about being hungry.

One Comment leave one →
  1. John Erickson permalink
    09/17/2011 1:33 PM

    C’mon, Ruby, don’t be so down on yourself. I bet you’re an absolutely beautiful lady, inside and out. And don’t let anybody tell you differently!
    (Wow, that just REALLY torpedoed my attempt to not be creepy. Ah well, c’est la vie.)

Leave a Reply

