Skip to content

Incredible!

09/05/2011

(This is the fifth installment of my serialized short story, “Captor Audience”. The next installment is here. To start at the beginning, click here. If you’d like to participate in the writing of the story, leave a comment from the perspective of someone reading Ruby’s posts online. If your comment works for the story, I’ll have Ruby reply to it in her next post.)

Thank you to everyone for all the supportive comments, and thanks to those who spread these posts on social networks. Never has my faith in the Internet been so bolstered. According to several of you, my story has been picked up by news outlets around the world.

Special thanks to WordPress, whose service appears to be my kidnapper’s blogging platform of choice, and who seem to have featured my last post in their Freshly Pressed section.

Especially special thanks goes to University of Toronto president Dana Brighton, who left a comment confirming my sudden absence from campus.

If you’re wondering why you haven’t heard from me in three days, it’s because for the last three days I’ve been denied fresh sheets of paper. I was only allowed to write again today, and only today did I receive all your comments, which took up eighteen sheets of computer paper. (Wow.)

I guess my kidnapper wanted time for media attention build. It appears to have worked, but for me it was hell. I didn’t realize how much I’ve come to rely on writing to keep me sane until my ability to write was taken away. Normally I write two-thousand words a day.

Your comments helped me to understand why I was kidnapped. It seems my kidnapper is attempting to crowdsource a ransom of one million dollars.

It’s brilliant, in a terrifying sort of way. To use a commenter’s pithy (if somewhat flippant) phrasing: I’m finally writing to earn a living–literally. You’ve told me that the ‘Ransom Meter’ (how cynical is that?) shows thirty-thousand dollars have been pledged so far. That’s a great start, but it’s only 0.03%. At this rate I’ll never get out of here.

One commenter asked if I now regret posting so much personal information online over the years. The answer is no. I do not.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Raven Warren permalink
    09/06/2011 8:41 AM

    She’s accepting her kidnapping pretty well. Is she hungry or scared? She said the comments from readers has helped her to understand why the kidnapper did it, but wouldn’t she still wonder why her? I expect her to be worn out and demanding answers. Is it that her writing has given her hope?

    Ruby, I think if I was in your position I would need more answers. Maybe your kidnapper has changed all of your posts and really you are too terrified to write. Maybe there was no kidnapping. I believe you but I need more answers myself. Do you believe that I wasn’t created by your kidnapper? Are you scared?

  2. 09/07/2011 1:02 PM

    Thank you for the feedback, Raven. You’re right–I think she’s responding to her situation a bit too calmly, and she would probably be skeptical about whether the comments are fabricated. I think I’ll try to illustrate that in the next draft.

  3. John Erickson permalink
    09/17/2011 1:30 PM

    Keep going, Ruby, keep the faith I’m working my way to you!
    By the by, as an honourary member of the Royal Hamilton Light Infantry of Canada, I vow to do what ever I can to free you! We can hide out in Hamilton once you’re free, safe from the maniac that yanked you from the cold streets of Toronto.

Leave a Reply

