Skip to content

Is This Being Posted on the Internet?

08/26/2011

(This is the fourth installment of my serialized short story, “Captor Audience”. The next installment is here. To start at the beginning, click here.)

Today I got back what I typed yesterday, with a few things crossed out and a few things changed–just like the last three days. But this time a second sheet of paper accompanied it. It looks like a printout of two blog comments.

My kidnapper editing out parts of what I write kind of makes sense, if he or she is posting it online. Wouldn’t want to let those incriminating details get through.

Of course, maybe you’re not posting it online. Maybe you’re just screwing with me, and these comments are really written by you.

The comments look like pretty standard Internet comments, anyway:

“obviously fake, lol. entertaining though” (This is from a user called ‘tacochunk’.)

“This is sad. If you’re so desperate for attention that you feel the need to pretend you’ve been kidnapped, I strongly recommend you seek the help you need.” (This is from ‘Numerous Milk’.)

If this really is on the web, please believe me, it isn’t fake. My name is Ruby Darnell, and I’m a student at the Ryerson School of Journalism in Toronto. My Mass Media professor takes attendance, so she’ll be able to tell you I haven’t been in class lately. My roommate will probably be wondering where I am too. And I was supposed to meet a girl from my Editing class the first morning I woke up in here. (Sorry, Shirley. If you ever read this.)

Please share these posts on Facebook, Twitter, StumbleUpon–everything. I need to get the word out to someone who can help me get out of here.

Someone please help.

(AUTHOR’S NOTE: At this point I’m going to introduce a little interactivity, if anyone is interested. If you’d like to participate, write a comment from the perspective of someone who has come across Ruby’s posts about being kidnapped online. You can be skeptical, sympathetic, mean–whatever. Ask her a question to test the validity of her story. Ask her about the food. Anything. If I think your comment is interesting, Ruby will respond to it in one of her posts.)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    08/30/2011 12:34 AM

    Ruby,

    I believe you.

  2. O rly... permalink
    08/31/2011 3:30 PM

    Ruby, You are being published on a blog called “batshite”. Could the blog’s operator be responsible?

  3. 08/31/2011 5:00 PM

    Thank you for your comment, O rly…!

    I think you may have misunderstood the exercise. “Captor Audience” is a fictional short story I’m posting as I’m writing. It’s written in the form of blog posts from a girl named Ruby Darnell, who is only just realizing her writings are being posted on the web at all!

    The blog they’re appearing on isn’t, in fact, called Batshite. Instead, it’s a website that was created by the kidnapper for the sole purpose of posting Ruby’s missives. But no more spoilers, kay? ;)

    Try to ignore the fact that these excerpts are being posted on my blog, and pretend you’ve stumbled across the kidnapper’s site while randomly searching Google in the midst of an interminable bout of boredom. Then write a comment from that perspective! Good luck!

    Unless, of course, you’re joking, in which case: LOL!!!!!!!!!!

  4. John Erickson permalink
    09/17/2011 1:25 PM

    I hope I’m not too late to the party to help, Ruby. Keep writing, maybe you can slip a fact or two about your location or kidnapper. I do have some skills and some weaponry, and would be more than honoured to attempt a rescue.
    On the other hand, Mr. Kidnapper, I am VERY short of money, and am willing to entertain any counter offer. (Nothing personal, Ruby, but my taxes are due. THEN I can still ride to your rescue!)

Leave a Reply

