Skip to content

Rejected: Soap and Shampoo

04/16/2011

Would you read a blog called Batshite written by someone who fails to periodically assert his batshite street cred?

Of course not.

What if I told you I don’t shower with soap or shampoo? That would be pretty batshite, and the batshittery would be compounded by the fact I was admitting it in a public forum.

Readers, I have a confession to make. I shower product-free. And I’m far from the first to do so.

Modern standards of hygiene prescribe showering every day using soap and shampoo at the very least–often an assortment of other products as well. But bloggers like Richard Nikoley, Sean Bonner and Wendy Jehanara  have discovered that foregoing these products means better skin, healthier hair and balanced pH levels.

I shower two-three times a week. For my armpits I use baking soda, which is cheaper than deodorant or anti-perspirant and lasts longer.

For me this illustrates how we grow up being told we require all these products just to get by, when in reality a lot of them do nothing but eat up paychecks.

Conditioner was invented in 1980. Most of the products we ‘need’ weren’t around 200 years ago, and up until then the human race did just fine.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Courtney permalink
    04/16/2011 7:40 PM

    Happy Birthday!

  2. 04/19/2011 1:11 PM

    Thank you!

  3. Dave permalink
    03/28/2013 10:11 PM

    Complete Batshite, say, what if you were to exert yourself to the point where these products are necessary. Does baking soda keep you smelling “acceptable” in social situations?

  4. Dave permalink
    03/28/2013 10:12 PM

    Just an FYI, I did not proof read previous statement! =:D

Leave a Reply

