Skip to content

An Excerpt from My New Novel!

04/08/2011

This is a short excerpt from my novel-in-progress, titled Taking Stock. I’m girlishly excited about how it’s going. Let me know what you think!

I don’t know why I just characterized excitement as girlish. Don’t read too much into that!

When I was a kid I discovered I could play catch with myself by throwing a tennis ball at the sloped, shingled roof of our shed. I’d play for hours, never able to anticipate where the ball would go, even though it was me throwing it. During the day the empty lot across the street was filled with kids throwing balls, but the pressure to catch one thrown by another person was too much for me, and I was rarely able to. Alone in the backyard with the shed, there was just me, and my determination to get better. We only stayed in that apartment one summer, and when we moved I missed the shed.

That feels like it should be a sad story, but telling it to Sam I can only laugh.

Sam strokes his chin. “Within this anecdote may lie the root cause of your refusal to attend my dinner party tonight. Tell me. Did you throw with your right hand, or your left?”

“My right. I’m right-handed.”

“Oh. Never mind, then.”

“Why? What does that have to do with anything?”

“Oh, nothing, really. It’s just that I read a study the other day on handedness. They found that left-handed people, when faced with new situations, are more likely to experience feelings of apprehension and self-doubt. For lefties the right hemisphere of the brain is dominant, and apparently that’s the half responsible for most negative emotions.”

I sit up a little straighter. “Wait! I was born left-handed, but my Mom kept switching stuff to my right hand when I was a baby!”

Sam whistles. “Goodness.”

“I have a right-handed body and a left-handed brain!”

“You’re fucked up.”

“I don’t even know which side of my brain I’m supposed to be using!”

“Well there’s your answer, then. That’s what’s wrong with you. Sorry, Sheldon. I understand now why you declined my dinner invitation. You have some things you badly need to sort out.”

“No—no. I defy my biology. I’ll come.”

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Courtney permalink
    04/08/2011 9:47 AM

    I can’t wait to read this boooooook!!
    Girlish excitement works…

  2. Raven Warren permalink
    04/17/2011 10:34 AM

    Let me read the next chapter too! Please Please Please!? :)

Leave a Reply

