Skip to content

Batshite in the Field

03/10/2011
tags: ,

Since starting a blog makes you a journalist I decided to go into the field and bring you some cutting edge reporting. Today I visited the Memorial University Farmers Market, which was held as part of Sustainability Days:

sustainability days

The market showcased local and sustainable goods. Local living is bound to become much bigger as oil grows scarce and the cost of transporting goods across the globe becomes prohibitive. It’s a good idea to visit farmers markets in your area and acquaint yourself with local producers. Maybe even start thinking about something you could produce!

I purchased some Crazy Good Fudge:

crazy good fudge

It lived up to its name–it was crazy good. My girlfriend and I devoured it.

Next I completed a survey in which I was asked to agree or disagree with four statements:

Bottled water tastes different then tap water. (I agreed.)

Stating the source of bottled water is not required. (I disagreed.)

There is a great deal of food waste generated at Memorial University. (I agreed.)

Access to clean and healthy food should be a legal right. (I agreed.)

I’m not much of a maverick–I answered the same way almost everyone else did. For my trouble I got a free t-shirt:

free t-shirt

Score!

I saw a poster about bottled water nearby, but I’m pretty sure it was unrelated to the Farmers Market.

just repackaged tap water

Adria Vasil was set up at a table with copies of her book:

ecoholic

And that was my visit to the MUN Farmers Market!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 03/11/2011 12:36 AM

    Jesus. I volunteered for these cats for two years (TWO YEARS!). You got a better day than I got in that time. Nice on ya’! But back in my day, Farmer’s Market was nothing but vocal lesbians and twitchy plants. Brownies…….

  2. Courtney permalink
    03/13/2011 10:56 PM

    What is that book like? Have you read it?

  3. 03/14/2011 1:14 PM

    Nope, I haven’t. She seemed to know her stuff though! She writes a column with the same title for NOW Magazine in Toronto. Looks like the book got some good reviews on Amazon.

Leave a Reply

