Skip to content

Proust Questionnaire

12/30/2010

This is the Proust questionnaire, ancestor of the internet quiz. I’ve taken it, and I invite you to too. Post your answers in the comments!

What is your dream of happiness?

Bouncy castle.

What is your idea of misery?

A lack of stir sticks that are long enough.

Where would you like to live?

Somewhere that isn’t integrated with the staggering global economy.

What qualities do you admire most in a man?

An awareness that gender is a social construct, and that no quality is exclusive to either sex.

What qualities do you admire most in a woman?

The ability to cook.

What is your chief characteristic?

My indiscretion–he bosses around all my other characteristics.

What is your principal fault?

I’ll give you a hint: it’s the reason I’m filling out this questionnaire.

What is your greatest extravagance?

Bragging about what a minimalist I am.

What faults in others are you most tolerant of?

The ones that mirror my own.

What do you value most about your friends?

Laughter.

What characteristic do you dislike most in others?

Intolerance.

What characteristic do you dislike most in yourself?

Can you repeat the question?

What is your favourite virtue?

Prowess in combat.

What would you like to be?

Drunk.

What is your favourite bird?

I don’t discriminate.

Who are your favourite prose authors?

Douglas Adams, Stephen King and Kurt Vonnegut.

Who are your favourite poets?

Emily Dickinson, Ted Hughes and Charles Bukowski.

Who is your favourite painter?

Um, Salvador Dali. Thank you for not asking me more than one.

Who is your favourite musician?

This is the twenty-first century, and I’m not very cultured. I’m going to go ahead and write my favourite band: Mother Mother, currently.

What is your favourite food?

Lobster.

What is your favourite drink?

Water.

What are your favourite names?

Memorable ones.

What is it you most dislike?

Stagnation.

What natural talent would you most like to possess?

The ability to make my eyes dilate and shrink at will.

How do you want to die?

What is your current state of mind?

Amused.

What do you consider your greatest accomplishment?

Survival. I hope to accomplish a lot more of it. After which, firenado.

What is your motto?

Don’t piss into the wind.

If you like my sense of humour, you might also enjoy my humour novel, Royal Flush: available as an ebook for $3.99.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Kimberley Walsh permalink
    12/30/2010 9:04 PM

    My boredom has resulted in the following:

    What is your dream of happiness?
    Me in a homemade quilt curled up with a book when its cold outside and if I’m real lucky a puppy and some tea.

    What is your idea of misery?
    Cold Feet

    Where would you like to live?
    I’m with Sebastian: I’d like to live under the Sea.

    What qualities do you admire most in a man?
    Ambition mixed with the determination to see it through. Gotta have a dream right?

    What qualities do you admire most in a woman?
    Inner strength and independence. Cause it ain’t fun being a doormat.

    What is your chief characteristic?
    Curly hair?

    What is your principal fault?
    I don’t know when to shut the hell up.

    What is your greatest extravagance?
    Books. I have boxes and boxes in storage because I don’t know where to put them.

    What faults in others are you most tolerant of?
    The ones I can explain to myself through logic

    What do you value most about your friends?
    Laughter. (Scott this was yours, but damn its good!)

    What characteristic do you dislike most in others?
    The lack of ability to think: for themselves, about their actions, etc.

    What characteristic do you dislike most in yourself?
    That I even care of people lacking anything.

    What is your favourite virtue?
    Kindness towards others: get off your ass and do something for someone else ya lazy bastards.

    What would you like to be?
    Asleep

    What is your favourite bird?
    I enjoy how the Roadrunner outfoxes the Coyote.

    Who are your favourite prose authors?
    Robert Jordan, Nicolas Sparks, Neil Gaiman, Paulo Coelho

    Who are your favourite poets?
    W.B Yeats, DH Lawrence, Oscar Wilde

    Who is your favourite painter?
    Jeebus just one? hmmmmm hmmmmm J M W Turner, I really like his style in works like “The
    Fighting Temerarie” and “The Slave Ship”

    Who is your favourite musician?
    I hate this quiz. Just one? hmmm ok then and I don’t care if you don’t the answer. I <3 P!nk. She rocks my socks. and The Frames, gotta love me some o' dat Irish.

    What is your favourite food?
    Scalloped Potatoes, alas no one will cook them for me, and I don't know how to make them and even if I did what would I do with a full pan of scalloped potatoes??????

    What is your favourite drink?
    Mango smoothies.

    What are your favourite names?
    I knew a Doberman named Tiny once.

    What is it you most dislike?
    The smell of hot mall parking lot pavement. Gross.

    What natural talent would you most like to possess?
    I'd like to do that tongue curling thing… I always felt I was lacking as a child.

    How do you want to die?
    Quickly, so in theory painlessly.

    What is your current state of mind?
    Tired.

    What do you consider your greatest accomplishment?
    I make pretty kick ass guacamole.

    What is your motto?
    If its meant to be, it will be.

  2. 12/30/2010 11:02 PM

    I can vouch for that guacamole!

  3. Candice Pinsent permalink
    01/06/2011 7:23 PM

    I love the Proust Questionnaire! They have someone famous/important fill it out every month in the back of Vanity Fair. The best ones have now been turned into a book. It’s really interesting to flip through.

Leave a Reply

